Odds and Ends

I have something on my mind I want to share with y’all, but it still needs work. So for now, here are some of the things I’ve been working on lately.

When Beth saw my pin on Pinterest of a tutorial for this bag, she begged me to make one for her. So I did! In keeping with my desire to be a faithful steward, I used old clothing for most of these ruffles, and covered a bag that just had advertising on it.

Now, Pinterest is highly addictive, wouldn’t you agree? If you don’t agree, then you must not be on there and you should drop whatever else you are doing and go check it out! :-D So in order to redeem SOME of the time I have wasted spent on there, I have made a concerted effort to actually DO some of the projects I pin.

Here’s one I absolutely fell in love with. This fabric rose is applied to a plain old stick from outside! Wouldn’t this make a lovely photography prop? If you want some, just let me know!

But I don’t have to always use a stick. Done like this, I can apply them to almost anything; shirts, bags, scarves, you name it. Cost? Nothing if you work from your stash, plus you get to go outside and explore while you look for just the right stick.

Confession time: I have a dress form obsession. I don’t know why, but a dress form of any size or type just really sparks my imagination. Imagine my excitement when I discovered a tutorial for making these pincushions on the DIY Dish Network! They’re so pretty I just had to take these ladies out for a little photo shoot! Again, using material from my stash, the cost is low. I already had these candlestick holders on hand, but you can find them for a dollar or two at the thrift stores. I also already had the miniature Christmas ball ornaments on hand, because I bought them on clearance after Christmas.

So that’s what I’ve been up to in the crafting department. Of course, along with everyday life, we’ve also been working on the house. That’s always exciting. Next I plan to bring you my brilliant (I hope) idea!

Leave a Reply

